Nowadays more and more business meetings and business training are taking place online. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advent of technology, an increasing number of businesses are shifting a majority of their operations to the virtual space. Expectedly, business events such as meetings and training sessions are also being shifted from the offline to the online mode. This essay will discuss why the positive impact of this trend outweighs the negative. Firstly, economic benefits of conducting meetings and trainings on the internet rather than offline are one of the biggest advantages of this trend. Generally speaking, expenses made on food, property and other bare essentials required for formal gatherings are one of the major contributors to a company’s spendings. Even though there is a cost attached to conducting formal meetings online, in terms of server costs, software costs and others; it is negligble as compared to the costs of conducting them in office spaces or conference rooms of high-end hotels. For instance, according to a survey conducted by a leading consulting firm, businesses spent 85% less amount on conducting meetings online as compared to their early practice of conducting them in business rooms of 5-star restaurants. Secondly, giving employees an option to work online has the added benefit of increasing employee satisfaction. The convenience and benefits of working from home help in maintaining a healthier work culture in the company, thus promoting employee satisfaction which eventually leads to better performance. Conversely, there are still some drawbacks to shifting business gatherings entirely to the virtual space. Virtual conferencing softwares are still in their nascent stages and lack the capability to handle a large number of people. Since training and development are generally conducted for a bigger audience, conducting their sessions online might not be as efficient as conducting them physically. Also, such newly launched softwares also run the risk of being hacked. Hacking of a business meeting where employees share important documents with each other could have disastrous consequences for the company. For example, a popular video calling software, used by many businesses, was recently hacked and the data of around five hundred thousand of its users’ was made public. By and large, businesses shifting to the virtual space has both pros and cons like two sides of a coin. However, in my opinion, the advantages highly outweigh the disadvantages as companies make huge savings and employees get added benefit of flexibility of work timings.