Nowadays many young people do not get enough sleep. What are the reasons for this? What can be done about the lack of sleep?

These days, people of younger generations are not spending enough time on their sleep. This essay will explore potential reasons for the case and suggest solutions to tackle the lack of sleep. One of the significant reasons why young adults are not getting appropriate sleep may be attributed to the internet. Young people, these days, are preoccupied with several activities on the internet. They spend a significant amount of their time scrolling social media, playing games, tweeting and chatting with their friends, depriving themselves of sleep. This continues during the nighttime, and most of them get less than 8 hours of sleep per day, which is an unhealthy habit. Another reason for not getting the right amount of sleep can be due to overwatching television shows. With platforms like Netflix and Amazon Prime, it is very convenient for youngsters to select their favourite TV programs or movies. They can spend not just their free time but also their sleep time binge-watching popular series and movies. As a consequence, many young people lack proper sleep. Getting the right amount of sleep is essential for a healthy mind and body. Environment plays a vital role in forming better habits. In other words, parents and youngsters should be aware of the detrimental effects of lack of sleep and curate a surrounding that allows their children to go to bed at the right time. This may require them to designate a room specifically for watching TV and using the internet. Parents may restrict their kids to use technological devices during a particular time of the day. In addition to this, parents can promote an active lifestyle through exercise and other outdoor activities. Unlike a sedentary lifestyle, an active lifestyle can make their body want the needed sleep and relaxation. In conclusion, younger generations are indeed getting used to fewer hours of sleep due to distractions caused by the internet and TV. Since lack of sleep is harmful to the mind and body, it is recommended to foster an environment for controlling technology usage and promoting exercise.