Nowadays, many students choose to do a part-time job during their college time. What are the advantages and disadvantages of students doing a part-time job? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Every year, going to college is always a big change for any student. In recent years, students have chosen to do a part time job while studying in university. In my opinion, doing a part time job during college has both advantages and disadvantages. First and foremost, getting a part time job can help students with financial burden. Most college’s students are living far from home and can only look for their parents to send them money so they can deal with university fees and the living cost. Instead of waiting for parents to send money every weekend, they can go to work in a coffee shop or a clothing store to earn money. Getting a part time job can help them and their family reduce their concern about money. Moreover, getting a part time job can help students acquire social skills and be more independent. For instance, when students work in Food and Beverage services, they will have a chance to learn how to communicate with customers and every skill they need to know in this area. With these skills, they can apply in daily life communication and also in their future career. Furthermore, with these social skills that they learned from doing a part time job can help them be financially independent and don’t want to spend extravagantly. Turning to the otherside, getting a part time job can affect studies in school. Students who are doing a part time job usually get tired because of long hours working at night. This will lead to students not able to concentrate on studying and might fail their test. Moreover, students who are doing a part time job while going to college often find it hard to take care of themselves. For example, students with a tight schedule of studying and working at the same time can not prepare a healthy meal for themselves. They will not be able to load every nutritious meal that their body needs. College student’s usually eat junk food or only 1 meal per day because they are too exhausted after studying and working. This can lead to physical problems and mental problems as well. In conclusion, although getting a part time job while going to university has certain benefits, such as acquiring social skills and helping families with financial burden, it also has numeros drawbacks, including physical problems and mental health problems. From my point of view, I believe that the disadvantage of doing a part time job while studying in university eventually outweighs the advantage.