Nowadays many researches are being sponsored by private organizations. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

At present, a vast majority of private corporations tend to subsidize scientific studies across the world. While there are some arguments in favor of supporting research by firms, I think it has more drawbacks rather than benefits as they think about their profits instead of people’s well-being. It is often said that it may be beneficial when private organizations support research financially. Because they should have a very good reputation. Since non-public companies can benefit enormously from funding such these studies, there is too much competition. Should they want to win the competition, they require to work harder in order to gain popularity. This may involve to care about the research findings and monitor the process. As a result, they may be able to maximize their profits. Additionally, as the government has a lot of issues on their hands, it may be possible for them to overlook the importance of some researches. But private firms have less concerns than the state, hopefully leading to more supervision. On the other hand, I believe that it possesses more advantages when studies are being sponsored by the government. Because their main motive is people’s welfare and happiness while private companies’ high on the agenda is only their interest. The government, then, prioritize the expenditure and allocate more resources to extremely significant studies, such as medical ones. This allows them to save thousands of lives. But non-public organizations may not take the needs of the society into consideration, both present and future when they want to fund a research. That is, they have a strong preference for studies which bring them more benefits. In conclusion, although private institutions can play a highly pivotal role in funding researches, I think that it will be more beneficial if they are sponsored by the government.