Nowadays it is generally accepted as scientific fact that fossil fuels (such as coal and gas) are harmful for the environment. This is borne out in daily life, for example many countries suffer from serious pollution, which not only reduces people’s quality of life but also creates a lot of additional problems for governments, such as the citizens’ health.

The climate change is of increasing significance to many people, as you could see at the numerous demonstrations of ‘Fridays for Future’ all over the planet. Thereby, the immediate change of our electricity source from fossil fuels to green resources is an important part of it, as it is generally accepted that coal and gas are harmful to our environment. However, there is also another point of view, suggesting to benefit from the cheap prizes of fossil fuels also the following years. This essay should explain both sides and finally weighing up the pros and cons. In general, the costs for energy produced through coal or gas are indeed comparatively low at the moment. Therefore, some people try to profit from the doubtless existing advantages by using these fossil fuels until they are no longer available, as for a few countries in the world the export of products like coal, oil or gas is the largest factor of their economy. Moreover, it is not just about a few countries, such as Qatar or Saudi Arabia, there are also a large number of concerns, which make most of their money through the trade and editing of these fossil resources. Consequently, an instant change to the much more expensive renewable energy sources had at first several negative aspects to some parts of the economy, but also for the citizens themselves as they have to spend more money. On the contrary, there are urgent warnings of many scientists to modify immediately the way we are living currently and try to avoid as many greenhouse gases as possible due to the climate change to safe the plant, as we know it. Thus renewable energies are a key factor to this development, even if there are high costs at the beginning. Furthermore, it is not possible to get the transformation from one day to another, but the action has to speed up to reduce the dramatic consequences of the global warming. However, rising sea level, more frequent nature disasters and the increasing air pollution are serious dangers to the human. So, if there is no immediate action to reduce the heating up to 1. 5 degree Celsius, the aftermaths will have serious influence in our future life. To sum it up, I am wholeheartedly convinced, that we have to make radical changes right now to save the earth. As a result, we should not harm the planet sustainably for economic benefits in the short term at the expense of our planet. Of course, these changes to renewable energies are not possible to happen overnight, but we have to do it in great steps with high subventions on these green opportunities, to reduce the use of fossil fuels.