Nowadays, many people send their children to boarding school so that they can have time to work. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

As the pace of life is now becoming more and more hustle and bustle, boarding school is an ideal choice for parents who are busy with their work and hardly have time for their children. Since students spend all their time on learning and living here during their school-time, some argue that besides the benefits this trend brings, there still exist some drawbacks that affect both parents and their kids. This essay is going to discuss both sides of this tendency and personal opinion will be given. With respect to the positive side of this issue, boarding schools are claimed to provide children with a better learning environment. Obviously, with the private investments, the quality of teachers there is indisputable. Because students live in an enclosed environment, so the infrastructure that serves their study is always modernized and ensured its safety. As children spend entirely their time at school, compared with day school students, they will have extra classrooms in the evening so there will be less use of technology and they will also be more active and social. Under the supervision of their teacher, the study becomes more serious as well. Finally, boarding schools are famous for their discipline, students there have to follow a strict daily routine. In the long-term, this can create the self-awareness that helps them a lot in their future lives Parallel with the aforementioned advantages, private boarding schools also bring about some noticeable downsides. Unequivocally, boarding school is not a proper place for introverted kids. It may be challenging for them to break the ice in an environment with almost all strangers. Sometimes, when joining public activities, they are often left behind which can deteriorate their situations. Moreover, those students also struggle to express their own opinions as well as matters they may meet with during their school lives. They find it hard to confide their problems in teachers or their friends as they are not enough believable like their parents. Consequently, it can lead to dismay in study or even other serious mental health problems and the like. Another demerit is homesickness. Get out of their parent’s arms, although students still remain their contact with their family, being kept at school nearly all the week may make some miss their home. This can cause frustration or social isolation and should not be underestimated. In short, although it might seem sensible for parents to send their children to boarding school because it can provide them with a helpful environment for their development, I reckon that some of its disadvantages like the inability of integration in some kids may overshadow the benefit. Parents should consider this before letting their children study at residential schools.