Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

In this era of technology, computer or laptop is available for everyone. With this advancement, our society has changed in many ways including our recreational activities. Previously, children loved playing outdoor games but today, they like spending time indoors, playing on their computers. This transition from outdoor activities to indoor video games has many pros and cons depending on how this is being used. While physical activities help build health, video games are helping in changing our technology in various ways. Firstly, playing computer games helps in developing insticts to understand and fight difficult situatuions successfully. If someone is playing a game with survival as the main purpose of the game, he or she will learn different techniques to escape such circumstances in real life. For instance, one of my friend, who was stuck in the jungle along with his group, helped everyone by applying different ideas that he learnt from a video game. Moreover, there are many games that assist parents in teaching their children subjects like mathematics, science and history. While, it is easier for parents, it has also improved the level of the knowledge of children. A great example to explain this, is the use of Math genius a video game in my school to help students learn mathematics in an innovative way. As for as disadvantages are concerned, one of the major issues is effect on the physical health of the children who like playing video games. Without any exercise, these games are damaging healthy life style, growth and mental well being of those children. For example, a study conducted in 1983 in Australia, shows that the hospital visits of the children who play more video games were higher than those who play some kind of outdoor sports. The other drawback that is related to video games is that it reduces social life of a person. By playing in the room on a laptop or a computer, one never finds an opportunity to interact and make friends. In conclusion, with limiting the time to play video games and creating a balance between outdoor and indoor activity, we can enjoy new technology without the unwanted side-effects.