Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

With the advancement of technology, every household now has computers and this has resulted in the introduction of new and various video games that are thoroughly enjoyed by the children. Video games are known to have positive and negative impacts on children. This essay will highlight these impacts in detail. To being with, addiction to video games is a real phenomenon and can affect children adversely. Playing video games all day long can influence a child’s health, such as; it can weaken one’s eyesight. Similarly, with the popularity of video games amongst the children, they no longer prefer to participate in outdoor activities, which affects their physical capabilities. Also, children who play video games tend to be less focused, this may even impact their studies. Lastly, video games such as ‘Counter Strike’ or ‘DOTA’ may induce violence among the children as they include killing and shooting as a medium of fun. However, playing video games can be beneficial for children if parents monitor their screen-time. Playing video games is considered a good leisure activity as there are not many indoor activities that are fun and innovative. Furthermore, some video games are educational and can be used as a source of learning. Keeping in view the highlighted advantages and disadvantages of playing video games it can be observed that playing video games can be good for children only if they are played in moderation because too much of this activity can have adverse effects on children physically as well as mentally.