Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

In this time and age, a large portion of younglings have the opportunity to spend their free time playing video games. This raises the question: What are the negative and positive effects of this change in popular leisure activities. We do not know the scale of the negative long term health effects this could cause; however, it is certain that kids being familiar with computers this early in their life opens a lot of possibilities for example in education. The knowledge these children gain from playing computer games, could help them later in their future. It is a well-known fact that younger generations get used to electronic gadgets and the world of computer sciences much easier than their older peers. This could be the result of kids starting to use these devices at such a young age, because they want to play games on. Furthermore, a lot of people think that the integrated use of computer games in school could be the most interactive and effective way of teaching kids. You can see a lot of projects emerging that try to combine playful learning with video games. On the other hand, there are a lot of reasons why medical experts are worried about the consequences that playing too many video games could bring. First of all, the lack of physical movement is standing out for a lot of doctors. Sitting all day in a chair for hours is absolutely unhealthy, and this is one of the main causes linked to the growing number of overweight people. Another worrying factor is the negative effect computer screens have on the eyesight, although it is reported that future generations might become immune to this threat. In conclusion, there are a lot of ideas about using this new medium of entertainment as a tool for helping children, and the people who are designing the education system are not the only ones who already saw potential in this. The possibilities are countless. Of course, there are health concerns surrounding this free time activity, but these mainly stem from excessive use and are not unavoidable.