An increasing number of people are choosing to live in high rise apartment blocks.

An increasing number of people are choosing to live in high rise apartment blocks. In my opinion, although these blocks of flats are often cheaper, they offer cramped living space and can present serious fire risks. One obvious advantage to living in a multi-story apartment block is that it offers people affordable accommodation in urban areas. With the growth of urban populations, land is becoming increasingly expensive and, as a result, many people are no longer able to afford their own house. Large apartment blocks require a small area of land but can provide a lot of flats which enable people on low incomes to continue living near city centers and near their jobs. However, high rise apartment blocks usually offer small apartments with no outdoor areas. For families, this can be a problem as each individual member of the family has little personal space, which can result in a build up of tension as relationships can become strained. Another problem is that such restricted living quarters offer no space for exercise which is a vital requirement for healthy living. Finally, one of the worst problems of living in a high rise block of flats is the fire risk that it presents. If a fire should break out in one of the flats, the number of floors in the building means that people can become easily trapped on the top floors, unable to escape the fire. This was unfortunately illustrated by the Grenfell Tower block fire that claimed 71 lives in London in 2017. The speed with which the fire spread through the 24 floors, made it impossible for everyone to escape. In conclusion, while large blocks of flats may offer a cheaper living option, they also offer people lower quality accommodation with serious fire risks.