Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

There are countless of pros and cons of children playing video games at such an early age. Critics claim that it leads to violence in the real life. One great example is the 2019 El Paso shooting. News agencies and even the POTUS have suggested that violent video games are - at least partially - responsible for this behavior of the terrorist. Many other convicted criminals have also had a history of playing violent games since a young age. However, the validity of these claims is wildly debated. Critics say that the peer-reviewed studies, that are the basis of these claims, are flawed. They fail to account for the impact of other aspects of the subjects' lives, such as family history and mental health. More importantly there are benefits associated with playing video games. For example improved teamwork, communication, and problem solving. They are not just a form of entertainment, but rather a platform, on which children voluntarily solve mathematical and logical problems, often disguised as challenges and missions. A real disadvantage, more precisely a danger, of video games is getting addicted to them. Without self-control one may spend too much playing, which might then negatively influence their lives. Altogether many aspects of video games are advantageous to a child's development. However appropriate education from the parents is essential. Children must be taught to differentiate between real-life and the digital world, and to practice strict time control.