People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern day society. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

In today's society usage of drugs for both therapeutic and recreational purposes has reached very high rates compared to previous decades. The drug culture exists on earth from the beginning of civilizations, most of the drugs which are labelled as harmful to humans now was used for treatment of some diseases due to lack of knowledge though we know the drugs are harmful to our organs we still indulge not knowing the consequences. The youth today are vulnerable to drugs than previous generations due to increasing academic pressures and some other contributibg factors like bad group of friends, peer pressure, starting to use drugs for fun, lack of parental guidance and monitoring on children about there wereabouts and attractive commercials and public figures propagating the use of drugs legal or illegal for there own self fulfilling purposes which is leading to young children and adults falling in the trap. The effects of the usage of drugs in longterm is alarming ranging from financial problems to major health risks. Majority of adults who start using drugs at an young age leads to severe cognition problems, psychiatric illnesses like schizophrenia, parkinsons, dementia and it may also lead to heart attack, sudden breathlesness. In case of sudden cardiac and respiratory problems encountred from high drug dosage usually lead to death. The widespread drug abuse is leading to many problems and bad effects on youth. So it is important to make some guidelines and implement laws to forbid drug abuse. The governement can implement guidelines for universities to make a rule where every student should undergo a blood test every 3 months to know if he is not using illegal drugs which may have huge impact, awarness programes can be launched by private organizations and individuals to help educate people, free medication can be distributed by healthcare centers for people who are undergoing drug rehabilitation, drug rehabilitation centres can be increased in areas of heavy drug abuse to curtail the side effects. Finally, by the combined efforts of government and public we can save youth and adults from drug abuse in a systematic manner.