Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

An increasing number of people today opt to work for themselves instead of looking for a job because of the income and lifestyle that self- employment may potentially provide. Smart people with ideas and initiative do not have to wait for a promotion at work and are free to implement their ideas as fast as they like while getting all the revenue their business receives for themselves. That means that some self-employed people earn significantly more money than those with similar experience working for a salary. Moreover, not having a boss means that people can choose their working hours and number of holidays, among other things. Not surprisingly, more and more people are leaving the safety of a salaried job to become self-employed. Despite the obvious appeal, being self-employed is riskier than working for someone else, from a financial perspective. As long as the company is operating, its employees are guaranteed a certain salary every month. Furthermore, in the UK and other developed countries, companies provide their staff with certain benefits, such as a pension, paid holidays, and sick leave, which are not available for the self-employed.