Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

These days, self-employment has become an option for an increasing number of people who prefer to work for themselves rather than being employed in an organisation. Several reasons contribute to this phenomenon, and there are some drawbacks of being self-employed too, which will be discussed in this essay. In today's world, many people tend to start up their own business for various reasons. First, some people have many work ideas and dreams in mind that they cannot implement as long as they work for a company or another person. When these people start their business, away from the law and regulations imposed on companies, they can fulfil their long life ambition. As a result, they will be accessible by a flexible work timetable and freedom of action and self-confidence. Masaru Ibuka, for example, quit his job and by launching his business, the Sony Corporation, he created a dramatic change in the world. Second, some individuals prefer to work from home and have a job because of their enormous family responsibilities. Thanks to the Internet and technology, this is possible, and these people can manage their lives better via holding their own business. However, like everything else on the earth, self-employment suffers from shortcomings. Undoubtedly, beginning any business has its own challenges. People who have started their own business might encounter budgetary troubles and in many cases will not have government financial support or cannot loan from a bank. Therefore, their work will fail, and they will go bankrupt. Moreover, self-employment will have an uncertain income. In truth, if the income is low, the person spends more time and energy to achieve a more reasonable income, which causes fatigue and sometimes frustration in the person. In conclusion, the need for liberty makes people want to follow the path of self-employment, but it can have its drawbacks because it implies an unpredictable salary, more working hours, and bankruptcy.