Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Some individuals prefer to conduct their own business, rather than being hired in a company or organisation. In this essay, I will explain the reasons for becoming self-employed and present its negative aspects. In terms of the benefits of self-employment, there are two clear ones. The first is schedule flexibility, allowing entrepreneurs to make a decision independently on daily working hours, and thus, fit their commitments around family responsibilities. Computer programmer, for instance, has the opportunity to drop initially the children at school and then fulfil the tasks from home. Willingness to have various sources of revenue is another reason for running your own business, while the income is based on selling high-quality products or services, rather than the number of working hours. Along with the company, its development increases job satisfaction. Those, however, who feel that self-employment has many disadvantages, highlight the high risk of failure and loss of the invested money. As a result, inexperienced businessmen are likely to financial distress such as unpaid debts and file bankruptcy. Hence, people are afraid that potential exposure can affect considerably their social and family life. Another crucial matter must be taken into consideration: the government do not provide any protection to women expecting a baby, as opposed to employees, which are entitled to maternity leave and allowed to return back to the labour market. As a consequence, many individuals prefer a permanent job and all benefits related to employment law. In conclusion, although the several risks related to self-employment, many people prefer the freedom of being able to make their own decisions and increase their wages, which might drive long-term ambitions to be their own boss.