Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

There are some countries where people have been struggling to find fresh and drinkable water for a very long time. At the present time, this epidemic is becoming a pandemic due to growing demand for fresh water everywhere. This essay will provide 2 main causes for the pandemic and 2 solutions to tackle this issue. First of all, the world is getting more populated by each day and the need for water is increasing simultaneously. Sadly, our world has limited resources of fresh water and because of overpopulation, humans might struggle with finding water in the upcoming years. For instance, in 2010 the population of the world was 6 billions and right now it is almost 7 billions. Secondly, the overall rain-fall all over the world has decreased because of global warming. One of the most important recourses of fresh water is the rain and low values of rain-fall is the second most important reason why the demand for fresh water has increased. Fortunately, as humans are responsible for the most common causes of draught and water shortage, they can be ones to take measures and help mature nature to restore it’s water resources. One solution to this problem is to educate individuals about their daily water consumption and carbon foot print. For example, people can be educated through campaigns, mandatory seminars, tv documentaries and commercials. What is more, schools can dedicate 2-3 classes monthly to teach children about how to use water efficiently and the methods they can follow to reduce their carbon foot prints. As children tend to continue their habits when they they grow up, teaching them these habits at young age will be a successful method of dealing with such issues in the long run. Another possible solution is for governments to increase the taxes on water usage all over the world and funding organisations which are trying to stop global warming. To conclude, in order to keep up with increased water demand, individuals and governments should take immediate action together to ensure human’s survival in plant earth, as the water is essential for human life.