With access to the internet and social media websites, many children are exposed to a number of dangerous situations. Adults should thus limit access to the internet for their children.

A lot of children have chances of getting into precarious circumstances due to the availability of the internet and social media networks and therefore parents must control their access to the web. I agree with the above statement as continuous exposure to cyberspace can make children vulnerable to risks such as cyberbullying, inappropriate content, and online predators. In the following essay, I will shed some light on the above factors. To begin with, the internet is a wonderful place for kids to learn but its access comes with its perils. Children can be ridiculed online on social media platforms, apps, gaming websites which can cause embarrassment and humiliation, and harm their self-esteem. In addition, adolescents have the possibilities of coming across explicit content that can make them feel upset or confused. Moreover, online predators on the internet can lure innocent children into sexual conversations or face-to-face meetings. For instance, a 45-year-old man who pretended to be a teenager on Facebook manipulated a schoolgirl into an in-person meeting and later kidnapped her. Consequently, adults must create awareness and educate their children about the risk they may face while using the internet. Parents can use parental control or search restriction options offered on the web browser, internet provider, and digital devices preventing them from seeing violent and pornographic material. For instance, a mother in New Delhi asked her internet provider to block 100 unsafe websites. To summarize, children have the probability of experiencing cybercrime, sexual predators, and objectionable content on the internet space which can harm their self-confidence and ruin their young minds. Thus I believe, to mitigate the risk, adults must take charge and start educating about the dark side of the internet. Finally, to protect children from watching inappropriate content, options of parental control and search restriction on digital devices can be explored.