Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the era of digitalisation, working from home is increasingly becoming popular. A major part of the society now believes that working for one’s self is comparatively better than to work for someone. This essay will discuss the reason why people nowadays are opting to be self-employed, and what demerits they might encounter. As the world is advancing towards a technological era, more and more opportunities are awaiting for self-employments. People these days are well aware of the internet industry and how it could benefit them to initiate their own startups without being attached to a tedious 9-to-5 routine. Consequently, they have the freedom of working off their homes without commuting long distance to offices. For example, by learning some short digital marketing courses off the internet, one could effort as a freelancer from the comfort of their homes and earn lavishly. Although, a freelancer has the freedom to task without being time constrained, there are some cons to the self-employment. First of all, there is no fixed income bound to the individual, the revenue is directly proportional to the amount of effort carried out. Secondly, the lack of routine causes de-motivation of the individual and thus, makes it harder to work. For instance, when a person is not bound to a certain timing, the brain signals procrastination, as there is no deadline attached to the task. In summary, working for one’s self is a good alternate but it comes at its own costs. To conclude, self-employment nowadays is seen as the primary source of job routine instead of attaching to some industry. This essay discussed why people opted to work for their own as well as the demerits attached to this job lifestyle.