Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of youngsters who prefer their own business than working for any other firm. This essay discusses the reasons and drawbacks of being self-employed. There are two major reasons why people tend to trail on their own. Nowadays, adults want to be independent and as a result of that, they prefer to work independently. If an individual doesn't have anyone above him or her, they can easily enjoy their personal life along with work life. Adding to this, being self-employed, gives them a chance to choose their work space, work hours and work outfit. It gets more comfortable being a self-employed as one doesn't have to worry about office timings or appraisals. However, there are also numerous drawbacks of being self-employed. There are many big risks in starting a new business. In fact, many businesses fail in order to make profit. Moreover, having a permanant job and a particular paycheck at the end of the month is a boon in some countries having high rate of unemployment. If we talk about future, there will be no benefits like pension, sick pay or holiday leaves in own start-up. Another thing that can be considered as a pitfall is that it involves hard work, long working hours and total responsibilities. To conclude with, though self-employment is a rising trend at a global level, it comes up with many disadvantages that cannot be ignored.