Nowadays it is more difficult for children to concentrate or pay attention in school. What could be the possible reasons for this? Which are the solutions you can propose?

It is true that children face a lot of challenges in their schools these days to give complete focus on academics due to various reasons. Even though there are many causative factors, parents and teachers can take several steps to mitigate these issues. There are many reasons behind the lack of concentration among school children in classrooms. First and foremost, unlike the past, today the number of broken and single-parent families is increasing. Children from such families cannot focus completely on their studies as they are not mentally healthy and happy. For example, in India, a recent survey report showed that failure rate is much higher among children who come from problematic families than the other children. Next, nutritional status is another important fact. Since pupils have more things to study, they often skip breakfast to save time. As a result, they become fatigued and weak easily when they reach schools and it affects negatively in their academic performance. Other important reasons for the lack of attention among children in schools are increasing air and noise pollutions, unhealthy diets, addition to computer games and insufficient parenting. However, there are several ways to tackle these problems effectively. I believe the most obvious solution is that parents should maintain a healthy and comfortable environment at home, which provides mental pleasure and energy to children for performing in school appropriately. Besides, they will be happy instead of unreasonable mental agony and psychological depression. Consequently, they can achieve higher grade or score in examinations. A further step would be to encourage nutritional intake of children by parents and teachers. Parents should prepare a balanced diet for students and moreover, they should promote and cultivate nutritional healthier habits. Next, nutritional classes should be organised in school premises to increase the awareness among pupils. The teacher should make sure that the classes are interesting and children’s can enjoy them. It is natural that when a classroom does not grab the attention of children, they will feel disconnected and bored. Enough emphasis should be put on making lessons suitable for children. Parents should make sure a healthy lifestyle and balanced diet for their school going children. To conclude, despite many causes and risk factors, parents and teachers can share a collective responsibility to enhance the concentration of children at school and studies to a large extent.