The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Attention to bodyfigure is proving to be an important topic among our society. In fact, this criteria wasn't as popular as it is currently. In specific kids weigh is being put under the microscope. The reason could be the remarkable 20% increase of overweight children over the last ten years. This essay will discuss some of the hidden reasons behind such a change and it's repurcutions on kids health. Firstly, we should mention that changes in young people 's life style is the main cause contributing in those extra kilos being gained. for example in the past children enjoyed their time outdoors and in the parks. whereas now, they are stuck in front of screens either playing video games or watching movie and surfing the web. Consequently the lock of movement and activities could explain this weight fluctuation. In addition, our eating habits has changed immensely over the last few years. Moreover, due to the easy access to fast food and the advertisement published everywhere, kids are preferring those junk food over healthy cooked meals. As a result to all the causes mentioned above many issues are being reported. Evidently the main issue is the averse effect on children's health. For instance, because of the excess amount of sugar consumed daily through soft drinks, candies and all the sweets available on the market, numerous kids are suffering from early diabetes leading to raising their weigh. More health problems such as shortness of breath, laziness, and more serious ones such as high cholesterol levels is proving to be popular among kids health problems. To sum things up, switching to an unhealthy lifestyle is hurting kids tremendously. As a consequence of that one of the many symptoms being noticed is the increased number of overweight children.