Nowadays, it has become more dangerous to criticize the government. What do you think are the reasons for this? What can be done to address this problem?

Politics has always been a sensitive topic for everyone. Government officials often react poorly whenever the citizens criticize the work they are doing. However, feedback is vital for progress in a nation. Despite this, people in power are hesitant to listen. Nowadays, the countrymen choose to stay silent out of fear of persecution. Some individuals keep quiet because they think their cries would not be heard and it would lead them nowhere. They tell themselves that complaining will be a waste of time because the government does not care or they would not do anything about it. People also think that if they demand for more, they will be killed or harmed in some way. A lot of citizens know that there is something wrong with the government, but choose to keep quiet to keep themselves and their families safe. To illustrate, whistleblowers would rather be kept anonymous to ensure their safety. They go to the authorities to report any wrongdoings but ask to keep their names off the record and have their identities hidden. A nation’s citizens must constantly be reminded of their rights. People have this misconception that it is the citizens serving the politicians and not the other way around. Since the countrymen already have this mindset, government officials also choose to take advantage of this instead of making the people feel that they are the ones serving them. Stronger laws must be created to assure the individuals that they are safe and no one can ever harm them for merely speaking up. For example, lawmakers can formulate a bill that will safeguard anyone who decides to stand up for themselves and their fellowmen. This could include protecting whistleblowers and further protect citizens from being unjustly red tagged. In conclusion, fear is what drives people into hiding. They would rather be safe and sound living under the rule of a ruthless government than criticize them and suffer from the consequences. To address this issue, it is vital to continuously remind citizens of their basic human rights and ensure that this is constantly enforced.