Nowadays in many countries more and more people are spending their time away from their families. Why is this? What are the effects on themselves and on their families?

In this day and age, there is a significant decrease in the amount of time spent with family. This essay will analyze the major causes of this phenomenon and its effects on family life. Many factors account for why people are spending less time with their families but there are two leading reasons. Firstly, because of the demands of modern life, parents always strive to earn money. Additionally, they are placed under pressure and easily suffer from work-related stress. Therefore, they can hardly make time for their families and find it hard to balance work and family commitments. Secondly, quality family time is on the decline due to the advances in technology. Family members would rather spend their time alone or check their phones rather than get together at dinner. Moreover, a get-together is usually interrupted by phone notifications. For those reasons, family members are gradually staying away from each other. Little to no time for family can bring about several negative impacts on individuals and their families. First and foremost, that family time is given less importance and less communication weakens the family bond and can result in broken families, divorces, arguments, misunderstandings, etc. When people in the family no longer care about and get on with each other, there is no trust, understanding, or love. Furthermore, a poor family environment can affect adversely children who suffer from a dysfunctional family most. Because they are given less care and love, many children coming from an unhappy family reach for bullying as a way to release their anger and sadness or committing a crime to grab their parents’ attraction. In conclusion, the pressure of work and technological devices are the main reasons for a great reduction in family time nowadays. It not only affects the relationship between family members but also can lead to many other consequences.