Nowadays, fashion has become more important. It is having a negative effect on young people?

The issue of whether fashion and styling are having a negative impact on younger children has become a matter of concern for many. Some may argue that thanks to globalisation more people have excess to the latest products or clothes, and is a positive growth for the retail industry. However, I agree with the former view. This essay will discuss the drawbacks of fashion industry on youngsters, by using examples from the BBC News and the Daily Parenting. To begin, teenagers are shaped around the social media nowadays, and the fashion houses hire famous personalities on platforms such as Instagram, to endorse their merchandise. Once youngsters see someone popular wearing or using that product, it becomes a trend among their age group which can have a direct impact on some youngsters, as they can feel peer pressured to also pursue the same purchase as their friends. For example, a study by BBC News in 2019 showed that seventy per cent of 15-year-olds bought a brand-new watch advertised by well-known singer, Taylor Swift. On the same survey, the buyers were questioned to declare the reasoning behind their investment, and shockingly forty-five per cent of the buyers voiced that, it is because everyone is wearing them in school. Based on this report, it is evident that children find themselves buying unnecessary products as they do not want to feel left out from the latest fad. In addition to social pressure, another reason why trending clothes can become a problem for young people is when they are refused to obtain items from their parents. This can have a direct effect on a child-parent relationship. For instance, a study published by the Daily Parenting magazine reported that, many parents in the UK face troubles dealing with teenagers when it comes to unnecessary purchases. If guardians refuse to act on their children's demands, this could lead to children behaving badly towards their caregivers, as they start to believe that their parents do not adore them anymore. For this reason, new styles can create an unkind environment at home and children might even start to rebel towards their guardians. To conclude from the aforementioned examples, I firmly believe, the fashion industry has developed over the years, and as a result is having a negative effect on many children, as they believe they need to have the same possessions as a famous person and their friends otherwise they will not fit-in.