Nowadays, families are not as close as in the past and a lot of people are getting used to it. Why is this happening? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Being an active part of a family imbibes an immense number of qualities in an individual which staying apart cannot. In spite of this, families have been drifting apart and do not bond in the same way they used to, back in the times. This essay will discuss the possible factors of this disturbing trend as well as the reason why it's negatives are far more than the positives. Primarily, this seems to be happening because of technological advancement. With the increase in the use of mobile phones and social media, members living under the same roof are not interested in each other's lives anymore which leads to separation, physically and emotionally. Another possible reason might be that parents work full time and leave their children alone at home. As a result, they fail to converse and part away. The positives of families losing touch do exist but are way less compared to disadvantages. To throw light on the pros, people become more independent and are able to focus on themselves. They can spend more time on leisure activities and fulfill their dreams. However, the drawbacks are preposterous. For instance, can you imagine the mental state of grandparents if their grandchildren do not pay enough attention to them because of busy lives? They will be devastated and become depressed. To add to it, mental health issues would become a rising concern due to loneliness. Lastly, everyone will be emotionally unavailable. To sum it up, there are several reasons as to why families may not be close to each other now. It should be paid heed to as it's cons are unsettling and far more than the advantages.