Nowadays companies and other organizations are requiring their employees to wear a uniform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of wearing a uniform?

Uniforms have been started by some workplaces for their workers that must be worn always. Freedom to choose one's cloth is denied that leads to the main drawback, while uniformity or consistency among workers is maintained in the workplace by uniforms which is a positive development. In the first place, wearing uniform bans employees their freedom to choose their garments which is a negative development. People wear clothes according to their convenience and comfort. As a result, uniforms can make individuals feel uncomfortable that can affect their work. For instance, a 2019 survey conducted by the newspaper "The Guardian" found that 80% of workers who wore garments of their choice to the workplace were more productive than those who put on uniforms. On the other hand, consistency is maintained in a workplace by making uniform mandatory in companies that is a positive development. Many a times people of lower rank feel inferior to individuals of higher status that is featured by clothes which can be avoided by uniforms. According to the statistics of Times of India in 2020, 60% of lower staffs in companies found relief from discrimination by clothes with the introduction of uniforms and half the percentage of individuals found unity by wearing uniforms. In conclusion, staffs of some corporations have to put on uniform every time during working hours. Although uniformity or consistency is maintained in a workplace among workers is a positive effect on introducing uniforms in workplace, prohibiting freedom to choose a person’s clothes is a negative development.