Nowadays cities have become more crowded. What are the reasons? How can it be solved? Is it a positive or negative development.

Overpopulation in various cities is becoming an issue for discussion of late. This is due a number of contributing factors such as; quest for better employment and education and the availability of amenities in the urban areas. Some measures to resolve this situation are; development of the rural areas and improving social and other useful amenities in the rural areas by the government. I believe this rural-urban migration is an adverse development which needs to be addressed. The decision of people in seeking for employment and opportunity to achieve higher education in the urban areas, in addition to the availability of amenities in these areas has resulted in a massive rural-urban migration. People in deprived environments lack basic facilities like advanced hospital and schools which contribute to a better standard of living. Inadequate jobs in most rural towns compel the youth to migrate to cities where they may get satisfying jobs to better their lives. For instance, a city like Accra in Ghana has a plethora of young individuals who have moved from their villages to seek for greener pastures. These frequently result in over crowding in the receiving cities leading to pressure on social amenities. On the other hand, developing rural areas by creating jobs and improving amenities such as hospital by governments and non-governmental organizations may be of a high benefit thereby preventing people from relocating. When adequate jobs are established as well as supporting entrepreneurs would encourage them to remain in their localities. Also, schools need to be well-equipped to enhance learning at various levels of education. For example, all universities and well paid jobs interestingly are located in cities making it inaccessible unless one moves to the urban areas. Therefore, it is imperative to consider these suggested solutions to control the migration rate. To sum up, a number of people are moving to urban for employment and to enjoy high standard amenities on the contrary, improving job opportunities and social facilities by governments are essential in dealing with this phenomenon which is an adverse situation.