Nowadays, children spend more time playing computer games and less time playing sports. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, taking place of numerous traditional leisure activities gradually by computer games has gained popularity among the young worldwide. This universal phenomenon is mainly attributed to two factors and I firmly believe this trend will bring more drawbacks than its advantages. In this essay, I will add a plethora of credence to my assertion. There are a large number of reasons why the children have propensity for playing video games rather than outdoor activities. The first reason is when being exposed to cutting-edge online games and state-of-the-art devices, they demand fewer physical movements than sport activities such as swimming, running that result in boredom than excitement to the children. Indeed, it is comfortable for the juveniles to sit in front of computer screen which displays several vivid and eye-catching images associated with less physical but more mental challenging tasks. This can be seen clearly in the recent survey, most children admitted that they found play virtual games pretty interesting due to tremendous psychological achievements that are impractical. Another cause worth pointing out is the environment where the youth are living. If they reside in the space which is frequently teeming with dangerous fast-moving motor vehicles or lacking their friends’ interaction, they will have obstacles in approaching such practical leisure activities. Enven though a number of people think the young will desire enormous benefits from this phenomenon, I believe it is a social tragedy to next generation physical and mental development as well as society prosperity. Firstly, despite reducing sport related accidents, insufficient regular physical exercises influence adversely on the young participants’ metabolism which increase the risk of chronic diseases such as obesity. Besides, focusing a long time on computer screen also might impair children’s eye-sight, backbone even leads to the youth’s death. Secondly, this trend makes the children have trouble in social ability which plays a vital role in the future success. Physical contact with the peers not only keep friendship well but also boost communicative capacity which interaction of virtual cyber world does not have capble of offering. For instance, lack of daily basic connection between children and parents as well as neighbors has been seen clearly in urban area where they are equiped with several digital modern games. By and large, I personally believe that this situation stems from two key factors which are sport challenging features as well as the surrounding; nevertheless, I take issue with the opinion that its merits outweigh the disadvantages.