Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth rather than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

This essay agrees that, today glamour and wealth are making celebrities rather than achievements and contributions to society which is setting a bad example for the youth. However, this does not imply all celebrities are bad role models. There are celebrities who have risen solely on their achievements. In this world of social media, many people are popular for their lifestyle and glamour rather than their talents. One can gain millions of followers on Instagram and YouTube based on their flaunt of lavish life. One can find various examples among star kids and the Bollywood industry. One such instance is new actor Ananya Pandey, who seems to have inherited fame and opportunities without possessing any significant talent in acting. This portraits the image that appearance and social media profile make one successful. On the other hand of the spectrum, there are celebrities who have become successful based solely on their hard work, talent and contributions to the field. We have actors, politicians and sports stars who are excellent role models for the coming generations. One clear example is Sachin Tendulkar, who rose to the top based solely on his skill, and determination and his contributions to both the game and society. To conclude there are celebrities on both sides of the spectrum, while there are those who are famous due to their glamour and wealth, others have risen due to talent and hard work. Hence, parents and mentos should guide the younger generation while selecting role models.