Nowadays, bicyclists and automobile drivers traversing in the same lane is very common, which can trigger several issues.

Nowadays, bicyclists and automobile drivers traversing in the same lane is very common, which can trigger several issues. This essay will discuss the adverse effects of this phenomenon and then propose some solutions to tackle these problems. There are two main problems that can occur deriving from sharing the same road. To begin with, the probability of occurring an accident when automobiles and bicycles travel on the same lane together will increase. To illustrate, they do not travel at the same speed, which can lead to a collision between two vehicles. When cars collide with cycles, cyclists will offer more severe injuries or even fatal accidents because most automobiles are much larger than bicycles. In addition, when those driving cars share the same road with cyclists, it is difficult for automobiles to travel at slow speed of bicycles because cars are far faster than bicycles. This leads to traffic congestion, especially during peak hours. This is an extremely common problem in Vietnam where bicycles are still used very popular for transportation. In order to deal with these issues, two measures have been proposed. First of all, the government should build separate lanes for cyclists and car drivers so that they can traverse at their own speed and avoid collisions as well as traffic jams. This will be safer for those riding bicycles and help to decrease significantly the accident rate. Moreover, roads should be widened, which help to increase road capacity and thus, allow more vehicles to participate in traveling on the roads. By doing this, traffic congestion, as well as the injuries that accidents cause, will be reduced considerably. In conclusion, cyclists and automobiles drivers sharing the same lane can cause several problems. To address these problems, two solutions have been proposed is that constructing separate lanes for cars and cycles and enlarging the roads.