Nowadays artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

Recently, self-driving cars become increasingly common. This is due to advancement in technology and this should be viewed positively because of the reduction in traffic accidents. People rely on machines because of the latest developments in machine learning. This is because big data and the fact that we are all connected via the internet means that algorithms can learn basic tasks. As a result, the software does not need to be programmed but can learn from millions of other devices around the world. For example, Tesla cars now come with Autopilot, which drives the car itself and shares the data with all other Tesla vehicles. Automation should be welcomed because artificial intelligence works completely flawless and doesn't depend on the human factor. In comparison with a computer, people might be tired, drunk, distracted or inattentive, which leads to a huge number of car crashes. According to a recent study, Tesla car owners were involved in road accidents four times less than drivers with the non-automated driving system. It clearly shows that AI leads to enhancing road safety. In conclusion, machines carry out tasks for us due to the fact that engineers and computer scientists are pushing the boundaries of science and engineering and these innovations should be welcomed because they are highly likely to save more lives of people.