NOWADAYS AGE DISCRIMINATION IN ANY COMPANY HAS BECOME A COMMON TREND. DO YOU THINK IT IS A POSITIVE OR A NEGATIVE DEVELOPMENT? xmajo

The effect of age discrimination at a workplace, which was always debatable, has become more controversial. The substantial influence of age at the company has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on coorporate world for years.   It can be agreed that nowadays, the corporate world is in favour of the youth, thanks to their age, flexibility to the modern working environment. This essay will elaborate on how the practice of age discrimination in the organization can be disadvantageous for the company and thus will lead to a reasoned conclusion. The practice of age discrimination at the enterprise has numerous drawbacks; but the most conspicuous one stem from the fact that no matter how energetic and enthusiastic youngsters are, with insufficient knowledge and exposure about their work, they often find it hard to take right decisions based on the limited experience in comparison to senior counterparts. For instance, by having these vulnerable and immature youths in place of the experienced staffs that have a wealth of knowledge and expertise gained in their long-haul career, a company will suffer prodigiously. Thus, experience employees are an important part of the company. Another facet is that training young employees would mean that employers have to spend more time, money and resources, which can affect the generation of revenues significantly. Therefore, if modern technology is what senior employees are lack, they can easily overcome this shortcoming by taking relevant training in their respective field. From what has been discussed, one can conclude that with all the skills and vital knowledge at work, old employees are equally as effective as their younger peers. Therefore, the practice of discriminatory policies towards a specific old age group is unjustified indeed.