Now, a lot of charities and organisations have to publicize their activities by setting up a number of days to name the special day like National Children’s day and National non smoking day. Why do they do so? What are the effects?

A lot of charities and organisations have to publicize their activities by setting up anumber of days to name the special day like National Children’s day and National nonsmoking day. Why do they do so? What are the effects? Charities and organisations are formed to help the needy sections of society. Generally theyare NPOs or non-profit organisations. Nowadays it has been seen that they set up a numberof days like ‘Mother’s Day’ and ‘No Smoking Day’. In this essay I shall discuss the causes andeffects of this phenomenon. The main reason why these NPOs do so is to raise funds for their working. This is veryessential because for every activity they do to help others, they need money and otherresources. When they publicise their activities, they get people’s attention and so peoplecontribute whole-heartedly. Sometimes, in times of calamities, they need a lot of funds andmanual help. They need voluntary workers. For example, recently in Ladakh, a cloud-burstcaused havoc. So many people lost their lives and there was so much damage of property. The Rotary Club and Jaycee Club of my hometown sent many volunteers to help. Thegovernment alone cannot be at all places. Because of such organisations people get timelyhelp and a lot of burden is eased from the government’s shoulders. When these organisations name special days, it brings people together. With more activitiesopened and more days named, more and more people will focus their attention and will puttheir time and energy and will realise the importance of doing for others. As a consequence, community spirit increases in society. As it is nowadays, people are getting self-centred andalienated from each other. So, such days are the need of the day. Such days keep our youth in touch with our culture and traditions. With the exposure toglobal culture, youth today are forgetting their traditions. To establish some days may helpthe young people understand the importance of such events. Such days also increaseawareness of offering help selflessly. Hence, some virtuous habit may pass from onegeneration to the other. Finally, such days deter people from bad habits. For e. g. onNational No Smoking Day, people are made aware about the harmful effects of smoking. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, charities and NPOs publicise their activitiesbecause they need funds and they name certain days so that people come together andcelebrate and realize the importance of their culture and tradition