Smoking causes serious and long lasting damage to one´s body. Although many people who are continually smoking are aware of these harmful side effects, they struggle heavily to abandon this habit. This essay will present why it is nearly impossible to stop being addicted to smoking and which actions can be taken in order to decrease smoking in society.

Smoking leads to dangerous aftermaths, yet many people can not bring themselves to stop it. There are two main reasons that contribute to the difficulty of stopping to smoke. Firstly, large tobacco companies were already accused of adding addictive substances to their products which increases the potential of evolving an addiction. Secondly, many people want to belong to a certain peer-group and, therefore, start smoking. When trying to overcome their addiction, they fear of being excluded from their peers. This inevitably result in less people starting a cure to stop being addicted to smoking as peer-pressure. The government, however, can easily punish companies that produce cigarettes with addictive substances and force them to pay higher taxes or are even suspended from manufacturing cigarettes. For instance, several tobacco firms like "Philipp Morris" were forced to spend a huge amount of capital because they lied about the potential addictiveness of smoking. This would, as a consequence, spread fear across all other tobacco companies which would force them to produce other, more healthy products. Peer-pressure is extremely hard to overcome, altough it is possible when people show courage and are willing to stop smoking. However, abandoning one´s addiction is only possible when one´s social environment supports it. Therefore one should either try to look for another peer-group or should carefully explain why the decision for stopping smoking was made. To conclude, tobacco companies and peer-pressure are two main causes that lead people to continue smoking, altough they are aware of the catastrophic aftermaths. These issues, however, can be solved by actions by the governmet or courage from every single person.