Now-a-days people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of the news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a well-known fact that in the time of digital era social media applications are playing a vital role in everyday life. From connecting with our loved ones, getting the latest updates to promoting our business these apps had made it much easier and it will be valid to say that both the advantages and disadvantages are at the same level. To embark, not only did these applications help the users in conveying information but they also have become platforms for showcasing peoples talents. In addition to this, they enable individuals to get feedback from their audience which boosts their confidence. These platforms help people to get acquainted with other individuals who have similar ideologies based on the content they consume. Moreover, digital networking provided an easier mode for businesses to reach a larger population within a small period of time without travelling any distance and yet promote their products. In contrast, Cyberbullying had been one of the main disadvantages of cloud applications; a larger population is being subjected to scams and harassment regularly as there are no proper regulatory measures to monitor the behaviour of individuals online. Due to the usage of these applications, the personal data of individuals is under constant threat and this vulnerability of data and privacy is caused due to both anonymous accounts online and also the owners of these organisations. In conclusion, with proper precautions taken to protect individuals’ interests and rights the social networking platforms can be very beneficial to the society.