Now-a-days many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

The increasing unemployment across the world is increasing at an alarming rate. Although many people are starting their own businesses instead of choosing to work for a company, there are several reasons behind this transition and also some drawbacks that can overpower the former idea. The population has grown exponentially in the last two decades. The countries like India and China accumulate major working adults in the age group of 25-40. As a consequence, the limited job openings in a company and increased competition among the people had created a surplus of unemployed masses. Thus, to earn a living more and more adults are exploring the markets to start up their business. This mindset of young people in bringing change in the work culture and young entrepreneurs are rising in the countries. For instance, a hotel booking website OYO was founded by a 21-year-old boy in Mumbai after getting rejected for a job in an MNC, now the company is valued at $10 billion. Secondly, the work environment of most of the companies is hectic and stressful due to which people do not want to spend their lives in such surroundings. Eventually, a large number of the working population cannot sustain and quit their 9 to 5 jobs and few of them start working as a freelancer. However, the craze of managing a startup slowly falls short for many aspirants. In developing countries, the graduates have the skills and talent to build a successful business but the shortage of funds is a hurdle. Moreover, people take business loans from private banks at higher interest rates to kick start their venture. Also, it takes years for several people to start from scratch and make an earning from their business. Unfortunately, only a few of them succeed in actually making a profit, the rest are piled up with repaying the EMI of the loans. Even the businessmen do not have a fixed income and it creates a problem for them to maintain the monthly spending. In brief, self-employment can be a better choice for those who can bear the risk of running a business and managing in a way to sustain it over a period of time.