Not enough students today are taking science, What are the reasons for it and that impact could it have on the society.

An Increasing number of universities are reporting an alarming decrease in student enrollments, in once popular science discipline across the country. In this essay, I will discuss the potential reasons for this decline as well as the detrimental effects it could have on our society. First of all, we need to understand if the number of science graduates is decreasing then what are students studying now a days, because the overall number of graduates and post graduates are increasing every year. If we look closely on this number, we might find Business studies or Information technology as the new hot favourite courses. With the advent of technology especially internet, professions like Code Engineer or a Business Manager are becoming new favourites for employment seekers since these jobs provide good salary, job security and a global demand. These new vocations have shifted the needle away from science as many young students are losing interest in being a scientist or a professor or a researcher which requires years of study before one can start earning. If this trend continues, it could turn out to be catastrophic because lesser number of Science graduates means lesser research and experimentation in the field of science. This in turn will slow down the pace of innovation and new discoveries which is the need of the hour today. Humans today are facing so many natural calamities like climate change, Earthquakes, meteor showers etc, and there is no solid invention to share an alternate path of humanity if things go worse for our planet. Hence, today we need more minds working on such issues than ever-before. In conclusion, I would like to assert that Governments and Universal education advisories should come together and find a resolution for this problem to make science regain its lost popularity amongst students. They can do this by incentivising youngsters with scholarships, university grants and special priviledges. They can also revise the courses and make them more attuned to the scientific requirements of today to increase the relevancy of the courses. Our decision makers need to think big and think fast to solve this problem and save one of the fundamental gems on which the entire human race is based upon.