NOT ENOUGH STUDENTS AROUND THE WORLD CHOOSE TO STUDY SCIENCE SUBJECTS AT UNIVERSITY. WHAT IMPACT DOES THIS ISSUE HAVE ON SOCIETY? GIVE REASONS FOR YOUR ANSWERS AND INCLUDE ANY RELEVANT EXAMPLES FROM YOUR KNOWLEDGE OR EXPERIENCE. WRITE AT LEAST 250 WORDS.

Nowadays an insufficient number of students worldwide enroll in scientific college studies. Scientific studies as such mathematics, physics and biology are not popular among university students. This trend is probably caused by the difficulty of this type of subjects. As an instance, a bachelor degree in biology requires not only a significant time spent on books, but also an extensive number of hours spent in a laboratory. Furthermore, the scientific curriculum taught in high schools is often not sufficient to properly prepare the future university students to subjects such as physics. For example, several fellow students, who attended my school and decided to study science subjects at university, needed to arrange additional private classes in order to prepare for their college admission exams. Their high school preparation had proven not yet adequate to study science subjects at college. Finally, college degrees which can assure a more successful and well-paid career, e. g. law or economics, are frequently prefered over science-oriented studies. Whereas the commitment when studying biology and economics can be comparable, I believe young people tend to choose a bachelor degree that can land them a high-earning job. The impopularity of science subjects at college has numerous and significant consequences on our society. Firsty, if only a minority of the population acquires a scientific degrees, there will be less people professionally equipped and prepared for certain roles. This tendency will thus create an umbalanced job market. Secondly, a reduction in students interested in scientific fields is deprimental to the scientic research, as less scientists are involved in groundbreaking studies. In addition to this, scientific researches often require sponsors to substain and promote them. Without the correct scientific preparation a reduced number of people will support the scientific research and several breakthroughs will not happen.