Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university

Many more university students have been choosing to study non-science subjects. While there are several reasons why science subjects are now becoming less common, society might be negatively affected by this trend. On the one hand, there are a number of reasons to explain why most students now do not prefer studying science subjects at university. Firstly, people can be less paid even if they have a good degree in science, compared with other sectors such as business in which there are a wide range of opportunities not only to earn much more money, but also to reach the apex of the career ladder. This is because most students would rather graduate in such fields which can help them to be successful in a much easier way. Secondly, science subjects often require a lot of hard work as well as a great deal of patience to score even average grades, so the number of those who want to study in the field of science has now been less because most students have a desire to spend a great deal of their time on entertainment rather than studying hard in the period of higher education. On the other hand, small numbers of students opting for science subjects can result in some negative effects on society. One of them is that society can greatly suffer from the scarcity of human resources in science field, which would lead to fewer developments that make human life easier. To take mobile phones as a simple example, without scientists, there would be no changes such as better functions which help people’s life be more convenient. Another influence is that as many more students have studied in other fields of education such as business or economy, the number of job vacancies can be limited in these sectors. As a result, these students are more likely to be on the verge of unemployment, which would be a large burden on both their family and society. In conclusion, at university, fewer students prefer studying science subjects to non-science ones owing to some reasons, but this can end up with negative results because it may lead to people living inconveniently and increasing the number of people suffering from unemployment.