Newspapers and Modern Media

It has been argued by some that newspapers are the best way to keep abreast of current affairs, while others claim that modern media is a better medium. In my opinion, while conventional newspapers may provide more reliable information and a distraction-free environment, I believe new media is superior due to its ability to provide recently updated news and other useful functions. On the one hand, traditionalists claim that newspapers provide reliable information and do not distract readers with invasive advertisements. Before being published, most newspapers undergo vigorous editing to ensure that the content is trustworthy. Therefore, those who read printed publications can rely on the veracity of what they read. In contrast, news on social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, can be misleading as there are few regulations about what Internet users can post on these sites. Furthermore, those who choose printed newspapers as their source of information are less likely to be affected by distractions, including advertisements and notifications that often pop up on people’s screens when they use their smartphones or laptops. However, modern forms of media are better in terms of the speed of information being reported and a number of useful functions. Online media is able to provide up-to-the-minute information about events as they happen. Thus, those who read internet-based newspapers can get hourly news updates and act accordingly. This has been particularly useful during the COVID-19 pandemic because the general public needs updates about new social distancing policies or vaccination developments. Additionally, those who choose digital newspapers can watch videos related to the articles they read or cross-reference sources. For example, a person who reads an article about the release of a new model of phone can watch videos about the product to be better informed about its features or analyze reactions from the general public before making a buying decision. In conclusion, despite the limited benefits engendered by traditional newspapers, I believe modern media forms are preferable since they provide readers with hourly updated information and other useful functions. Therefore, it is not surprising to witness traditional papers declining gradually in importance as more people these days use the Internet to access the news.