Smoking should not be permitted in restaurants, and state laws that prohibit it should be held.

In today’s era of self-awareness of smoking’s detrimental effects, people today are restricting smoking in public places, particularly in restaurants, in my opinion, where smoking should be strictly banned due to several reasons that I will shed light on in this essay. To begin with, smoking in public restaurants could cause an excessively adverse impact on not only smokers but people who do not as well. To be specific, in accordance with globally admitted research, one cigarette contains millions of chemical distributions which unfavorably affect a human being’s life leading to arduous ailments or even death. Not only the smokers; however, for a long time we have been informed about the dangers of smoke inhaled by non-smokers. My own experience can be a compelling example. When I was a child, I had an uncle who used to consume 1 pack of cigarette per day for a lifetime, gradually his condition of health dropped off drastically and eventually he could not speak by himself but for the assistance of supporting devices. Moreover, his wife and kids in the family had some severe illness caused by the chemicals of cigarettes even though they did not smoke at all. As a result, it is merely the restaurant's responsibility to protect their nonsmoking customers. (conclusion sentence) Furthermore, smoking in restaurants would negatively spoil the taste of foods and worsen the experience of other customers. Simply saying, as soon as the dishes meet the smoke of cigarettes, all the enticing smell and tastes of the food would be all replaced by the unpleasant smell of smoke. Some people might say that it is their right to smoke to enjoy their moment in a restaurant. This is partly true as in the past when people did not fully take into account the downside consequences of smoking. For instance, once I was having a meal in a restaurant, I sat next to a man who was smoking a lot. Consequently, when my dishes came out, all I could taste was the uncomfortable sense of smoke, which upset my meal a lot. As time elapses, people would even take it amiss if someone smoked in the restaurant which diminished the experience of others guests. In brief, smoking in restaurants overall do more harm than good for both smokers and people around thanks to its detrimental drawbacks. This should also prompt the state law to bring about regulations against smoking in restaurants to end this trend.