News media have great influence on people's lives. , give your opinion.

To many individuals, news is a regular way of life. The issue in dispute is whether news media have great influence on people's lives depicts a negative development. I am of the opinion that news media does more good than bad to the society. Information technology provides people with information they need on daily basis, although there are claims that it selects and report those news/ events that interest the audience. Evidence shows that people all walks of life have the habit of collecting information regularly from media such as broadcast, internet based media etcetera. Information helps in decision making. For instance, information on the outbreak of COVID-19 last year helped government of different countries to take proactive measures to minimize the spread of the virus. However, it should be of note that that, news media can sometimes save lives and reduce casualties. There is a lot of uncertainties in our surroundings and that masses are at risk of harm, kidnap and all manner of life threatening issues from crime, accident, as well as natural calamities. News media conveys first-hand information to concerned authorities, enabling them to take corresponding actions right away. Conclusively, it is pertinent to always listen to news always as this will help take them Away from harms way.