Why Are High Schoolers Anxious?

Can you imagine that more than 76% of high schoolers suffer from panic disorder? Well, that’s the hard truth. According to the national institute of health, nearly 1 in 2 students has an anxiety disorder. These disorders don’t just affect the students themselves, but extend to effect their communities which makes anxiety a serious epidemic. Anxiety is a slow kill for students that prevents them from performing at their best. Anyone who went through high school will surely acknowledge the causes of anxiety. Although these causes are boundless, the common ones are high expectations, dealing with too many crucial tests, lack of information about this level and more. How can these cause the mental illness of the century: Anxiety? First of all, high expectations and pressure that is burden on high school students to succeed. High expectations lead to lots of unimaginable consequences such as panic attacks and insomnia which can eventually lead to a brutal breakdown. "Pressure generates explosion" is a well-known physical principle, but it applies to high school’s students' lives today. Actually, teenagers have a great enthusiasm to have fun, maintain active social lives, and be able to have different chores based on their interests, so let them enjoy this stage of their lives. Take a closer look to those who arrived to the top of the hill. They all have one common thing, failure, right before they became these great people we are inspired by now. A statistic that is done by Maya O’neil, a famous teenagers’ psychologist, shows that 66. 8% of those who succeeded weren’t suffering from any obligations to succeed. "Don’t go too hard on them. You will just get the inevitable end of every one who did so, failure. If not today, then tomorrow when they grow up. " Said Maya O'neil in one of her speeches about students. Second of all, having to deal with too many crucial tests that determine their future. High schoolers need to digest the fact that they are not young anymore. Today, they’re responsible for deciding their path for the rest of their lives. Well, this fact is a little bit harsh for them. Today, high schoolers are not just asked to perform at their best in school, but are obligated to achieve high grades in different entry exams to finally arrive to the faculty they desire. This idea haunts high school students as soon as they enter the world of maturity, thus, it causes anxiety and the package of disorders that comes along to it. A newly published scientific paper by the department of psychology in Harvard University, titled "Psychology of High Schoolers", and contained many different field experiences on a variety of high schoolers across the globe, came to a final recommendation to reduce the growing numbers of anxious and stressed high schoolers; " As the numbers of those who suffer from GAD, SAD and panic disorder has witnessed its climax nowadays, it’s a MUST to cut entry exams -At least into half- and replace them with other methods to evaluate students’ eligibility to go to college. " To sum up, anxiety is the mental illness of the century for sure, and doctors are advising us not to let it silently kill the roots of our nation: young people. The increasing number of teenagers who suffer from anxiety is a danger sign that is warning us from what will happen to our generation later on. Just ask yourself, how can these troubled kids be the teachers, doctors and engineers of the future? I’m sure that this question will spice up your thoughts and make you think thoroughly.