social media influence on kids

Parents always want the best for their children, but do they know that their kids might get affected negatively by a thing they use every day? Billions of children across the world accessing the internet multiple times a day, and surveys show that ninety percent of kids ages 13-17 have used social media and have at least one active account. Social media is a part of the internet that has created a greater avenue for people to interact across the globe. It allows people to communicate and remain in contact with friends as well as meet new people, but it also has many negative effects on kids as well that parents should be aware of, such as social isolation, lowering their self-esteem and affecting their mental and physical health. First negative effect of social media is that it leads to social isolation and loneliness. The more time kids spend on social media, the more they get exposed to new stories and ideas that they would want to explore. This habit eventually turns into an addiction that, if not handled early, can affect their school performance because children often use entertainment media at the same time that they're doing other things, such as homework. Also, this addiction has a bad impact on the way they socialize as James Lloyd once said, “Social media reduces the amount of face to face socializing and replace it with online interaction which is believed to result in low quality relationships with other people and many different social issues. ” Furthermore, social isolation and loneliness can lead to depression, and it decreases the kids’ social skills which can lead to suicide or self-harm. That’s why parents should limit their children’s use of social media and spend more time with each other. Family time is an essential factor that helps to create strong bonds, love and connections. Another negative influence of kids using social media is that they will have an unhealthy development, and it lowers their self-esteem. Nowadays, children are comparing themselves with celebrities after spending time on social media and want to look slim, pretty, and rich like them. They don’t realize that what they see is what people have chosen to upload on the internet. They don’t realize that no one is perfect and everyone is struggling with problems and issues as well as they are. Most of children will be upset after thinking that everyone has an amazing life but them which definitely will affect their self-confidence. Furthermore, kids place a lot of value in the feedback they receive on social media. Likes, comments, and followers can make or break their mood or self-esteem. Plenty of researches have drawn links between social media usage and self-esteem. According to a study by Kimberly Jones, teens who spend more than three hours a day on social media are susceptible to self-esteem related mental illnesses. In addition, social media affects kids’ physical and mental health. It can change the developing brain structure of children leading to poor academic achievements, involvement in dangerous activities, unhealthy nutritional habits. In conclusion, nobody knows your child better than you, so be on the lookout for changes in his behavior. The increasing number of kids using the social media unfortunately could be a sign for an unhealthy, troubled and isolated generation. Social media is and will be harmful unless something is done about it. In addition, parents should be aware of the negative effects of social media to protect their children from isolation, loneliness, health troubles and low self-confidence.