News editors decide what to broadcast on TV and what to print in newspapers. Some people feel that news broadcasts focus too heavily on bad news and should include lighter stories while others believe that the news should remain focused on important event

The contents on newspapers and TV news are controlled and managed by news editors. TV and newspapers are important resources, which main purpose is providing information to the public. Whether the contents of news are negative or positive is dependent upon listeners. When it comes to the news, I personally think that, news should focus on telling people what is happening with the world regardless with its impact. The main purpose of news is broadcasting any events to the public despite to its divergent consequences. People acquire information which is derived from the news and hence the content of news cannot be changed dependent upon audience’s taste. Furthermore, the story of news can be unpleasant according to the situation of the public. The public would react differently with the same story in the case of serial criminals as an example; the fact that they live next door would react different than the story of live some other countries. Not all news broadcast bad news as often we can hear the discovery of new treatment for the cancer or the major organization donates a large lump sum to the charity. Therefore, the news should not be biased on its contents. In fact, some other people would claim that the lighter news is better for the community, because the story is less depressing, which encourage the public to less confront to the government. Everyday light news on a media program would influence heavily on people’s emotions in a positive way. People could feel happier with their lives and see things more optimistic ways. Therefore, other people would believe that the current media should include light news but this is definitely not what I prefer. Personally I believe that lighter news would bring false hope to citizens to be impractical and illogical. The lighter news could make some impact to the people’s emotions but I believe that this is the short term effects. In the long term, this effect is minimal and they feel miserable for their rat-race lifestyles. In conclusion, despite to the news editor is responsible for the contents of the news; it is the initial resource for all the information that public would receive. It could be tempting to broadcast only sweetness to the public however; the reality does not always contain the sweets. Some materials would be displeasing to bear but, the reality is not sweet.