News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported? Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

It is the responsibility of the news editor to decide what gets printed in their newspaper or what matters get aired on their news channel. There can be several aspects that can influence their decision in this regard, such as their inclination to spread the truth amongst the people. Sometimes truth can be harsh and bad, one can never get accustomed to such news. However, increasing the number of good news can be highly uplifting for the masses and create positivity. Certain influences on the editor along with their thought process are the key to the decision of what goes out to the audience. For instance, if the owner of the news firm is from a political party, he/she might expect their editor to circulate news that supports the party more than the facts. Which can be really bad for the general public. There is a great deal of negative happenings around the world and one can never be comfortable with bad news. No matter what, they can be depressing and harsh realities. They always tend to have a negative impact on the community. For example, there have been a number of shootings all over the USA and no matter how many times we listen to them, we always feel bad for the victims. No one can get used to them. On the other hand, it is always a pleasure to know of good news. It creates a healthy and a positive atmosphere and builds up the confidence. More good news creates more positive discussions and leads to much happier society. In conclusion, although it is the editor’s choice to decide what is communicated through their mass media, focusing on spreading more good and positive news can help the society than bad ones.