News about problems and emergencies is harmful to individuals and society. Do you agree or disagree?

With the emergence of media, people immediately get to know about the events that take place in different parts of the world and most of the time it leaves them in a despondent situation. In my opinion, although it is true that in some situations news about emergent and difficult situations disturbs the peace of mind, I personally feel that most of the time it is beneficial for the society and individuals. On the one hand, news about crises and predicament promotes the sense of fear among masses. To explain it further, when people see the turbulent and catastrophic events happening in any part of the world, not only does it land people in a sad mood, but it also generates stress and depression in them. For example, when people watched the news about 9/11 accident in the USA, most of the people got depressed for many days because they could not stay calm after watching such immensely violent news. Thus, it is undeniable that such type of information is detrimental to people and society. On the other hand, despite of the negative effects of such news, I do not think this is the case always. When media telecast news about the most pressing issues such as global warming, pollution, and natural resources, it not only creates awareness among people about the environmental issues, but also promotes the sense the responsibility to preserve it. For instance, last year an article published in the Asian Times revealed that the amount of plastic content in oceans is likely to rise by 50% by 2025 if people do not abandon the habit of its usage. After that news, the government of Indian imposed taxes on plastic use and people started using clothes bags. Therefore, I believe that these types of news plays imperative role in making the lives and environment better. In conclusion, while some critical news could create chaos in one’s life, I doubt that it is harmful to individuals always because news gives knowledge about the real-time situations happening in the world in order to make changes in lives.