New Technology Is a Two-edge Sword

New Technology Is a Two-edge SwordIn modern society, technological innovation is progressing at an unprecedented rate. People’s life is no longer set in stone. However, the development of new technology is a double two-edged sword. There are still many people who think that old-fashioned technology has more advantages than new technology, and so people should not abandon the old methods. In my opinion, compared with new technology, old-fashioned technology is healthier, more humane, more secure, and more environmentally friendly. At first, old-fashioned technology is healthier than new technology. Individuals used to live without electricity. However, with the development of technology is accelerating, an increasing number of electronic products are rapidly showing in people’s daily life. In fact, people usually forget the dangers of electronic products: more electronic products mean more electromagnetic waves, which is what people call, radiation, and which has detrimental impacts on people’s health. Individuals are surrounded by these invisible waves by when using any electronic goods, such as cell phones, TVs, or even microwaves. What is more dangerous is that the single transmitting towers are built near the residential areas today, because of the development of city. A single transmitting tower will produce a larger amount of electromagnetic waves than other small electronic goods every day. Those people who near the tower will be more likely to get diseases because of the radiation, such as cancer, leukemia, or tinnitus. Even though new technology is more convenient than the traditional, the traditional is better for people’s health. Not only is traditional technology healthier than the latest modern technology, but also traditional technology is more humane than the latest technology. The new technology is making people’s life easier, they can use the internet to deal with almost all their needs. However, people now are getting accustomed to using a keyboard to send their messages and have less face-to-face communication, which creates alienation between humans. Individuals, especially teenagers, would rather share feelings on the internet than talk to others face-to-face and also rather looking at their phone than listen to what their parents say; subsequently, which leads to their relationship become vulnerable, and some of whom forget how to control a real face-to-face communication. When people’s feelings are transmitting by the cold icy machine, how can others feel empathy? For instance, many people now send their presents by shopping online and shipping them to their family or friend’s house, instead of knocking on the door and bringing their blessing and presents face-to-face in-person. By doing it, it seems to be time-saving and convenient for them, but people who get the presents may not feel happy and or surprised. Thus, the traditional way is more humane than advanced technology. In addition to old-fashioned technology is healthier and more humane, it also is more secure. There is a crime that happens every day, accompanied by the development of technology. With the incidence of crime hovering at high levels, many have disturbed and alarmed because of the technology. And the armed crime and the gun are a major threat. Even though there were many crimes that happened before, current crime has more lethality more lethal with advanced weapons. Now, advanced weapons are not only guns or bombs, but it also includes nuclear weapons. What is more horrific is that criminals can buy advanced weapons easily through the internet or agency today. Meanwhile, the country that has innovated the nuclear weapon claim that the reason why they innovate this is to protect their homeland. However, it also poses a potential threat to human life and makes people feel insecure. In other words, it is commonly acknowledged that the lethality of nuclear weapons can be valid during people’s all lifetime, which is difficult to feel safe under this circumstance. Therefore, people feel less secure about new technology. Last but not least, modern technology is less environmentally friendly than conventional technology. In the current era, although the government invests in the green projects every year, the afforested area is still decreasing remarkably and the eco-environmental quality is descending significantly. The reason why the ecological system is damaged is when people are innovating the technology, it consumes numerous natural resources and releases a great deal amount of harmful substances. The ozone layer is violated, the creatures become extinction and the water is contaminated, which all caused by the innovation of technology. For example, plastic, one of the arch criminals of aggravating the environment, is becoming the main problem in society. This non-biodegradable garbage leads the fertile soil to become infertile and leads to a large amount of the animal’s death, which still cannot be solved perfectly. Thus, the environment is less healthy than before because of the new technology. In the conclusion, advanced technology is less healthy, less humane, less secure, and less environmentally friendly than old-fashioned technology. It is undeniable that advanced technology is becoming an indispensable part of our life. However, not all people like what the world becomes now. The conventional lifestyle is still important and necessary. As far as I am concerned the thing that stull unchanged before will not change in the future.