NEW DREAMS FOR 21ST CENTURY BOYS AND GIRLS

At my childhood, when somebody asked me what I wanted to be when I was grown-up, I had clearly enough that I wanted to be the best football player in the world. Other boys wanted to be doctors, and the girls top models. At my mid-forties I can say that not only did I not reached my dream, but I was never close to achieve it. Anyway, I am a proud of being a teacher in our school. According to a recent survey ten-year-old children's answers, regarding which it would be their favorite profession, are similar to ours. Clearly our daughters and sons admire the famous and rich people, and they want to be one of them. Although in our schools we have tried to avoid the gender stereotypes we can not see any evolution in their chosen professions since we were children. It is time to implement some changes at school. Firstly, promoting mixed-gender activities and secondly establishing habits to avoid gender stereotypes. For instance, it would be great to create a theater workshop. Apart from activities, I would create a space in class hours for people of different professions to talk in front of the students about their day to day and work tasks to provide the students with a broader range of professions. It would be very enriching for them. To finish I would like to add that it would be necessary to strengthen some habits. A neutral language should be promoted and talks with parents to avoid the use of gender stereotypes at home. With these measures, we would be able to help our students to overcome gender roles and their stereotypes.