NEW DREAMS FOR 21ST CENTURY BOYS AND GIRLS

Just as many people are interested in researching their family histories and finding out about their ancestors, investigating the history of one’s neighbourhood village or town is also becoming more popular. I will consider two of the ways in which this research can be carried out. Perhaps the most straightforward way of finding information about the recent history of a neighbourhood is to interview elderly people who remember the place as it was in the past. These personal memories can provide us with a clear idea of what life was like in a place we know today. Unfortunately however, old people’s memories may not be reliable, which means that any factual information they pass on may not be accurate or complete. Another practical and effective approach is to consult written records in, for example, museums, churches or record offices. But today, more importantly than this, anyone who has access to a computer can search the Internet for information about the history and development of the place in question. This method will almost certainly provide factual information, as well as more personal insights, and will enable us to discover facts about our neighbourhood beyond living memory. Although I believe that interviewing people from a neighbourhood would provide interesting and personal information, I think that the Internet is more likely to provide detailed and reliable information.